Our Staff

President & CEO

Lauren Swartz

President & CEO

ext. 232 | lswartz@wacphila.org

Lauren leads the World Affairs Council of Philadelphia as President and CEO. The organization provides strategic, non-partisan speaker programs, youth education, leadership training, and unique travel opportunities worldwide. The organization hosts heads of state, private sector leaders, international experts, Nobel Prize winners, and more to advance their motto: “Democracy Demands Discourse.” They provide globally-minded youth education programs to nearly 3,000 students annually, including Model UN programs. Lauren leads all aspects of the organization. Previously, she was Deputy Commerce Director of International Business & Global Strategy for the City of Philadelphia. With a focus on global business attraction, foreign direct investment, and promoting exports, her work created hundreds of jobs and strengthened the local economy. She crafted the global strategy for Philadelphia and hosted delegations, diplomats, business and investors from abroad, and represented the City of Philadelphia worldwide. Lauren has also served as the Deputy Director at the trade association, Food Export USA – Northeast, working to promote U.S. exports in over 40 countries around the world, producing over $500 million in export sales annually. Lauren has experience running her own consulting firm specializing in international project management and food marketing. She has lived and worked abroad in Copenhagen and London. Lauren is the Honorary Consul of Sweden for Pennsylvania, serving as the Swedish government’s liaison to the state. Lauren serves as a Board Member for the following organizations: Leadership Philadelphia; Women Against Abuse; Philadelphia Convention and Visitors Bureau, the Satell Institute, and Global Philadelphia Association. She is a member of the Sunday Breakfast Club and the Forum of Executive Women. She also serves on Pennsylvania Advisory Committee for the U.S. Global Leadership Coalition. She earned a B.A. in Communications at Randolph-Macon Woman’s College with minors in Business Economics, Spanish, and Philosophy. Lauren is an accomplished speaker at conferences and events around the world. Awards include “40 Under 40” Honoree in 2019 from the Philadelphia Business Journal and Temple University’s Fox School of Business International Business Partner of the Year in 2016-2017. She speaks some Danish and Spanish and has traveled for work and pleasure to over 25 countries.



Membership & Development

Margaret Hasani

Vice President of Development & Membership

ext. 222 | mhasani@wacphila.org

Stefanie Yeung

Membership Manager

ext. 221 | syeung@wacphila.org

Shantel Anderson

Membership, Events & Database Coordinator

ext. 200 | sanderson@wacphila.org

Speaker Events

Hayley Boyle

Vice President of Programs

ext. 227 | hboyle@wacphila.org

Corey B. Stubanas

Programs Coordinator

ext. 231 | cstubanas@wacphila.org

Education

Kristin Hutchinson

Vice President of Education

ext. 228 | khutchinson@wacphila.org

Kasey Trapp

Associate Director of Student Programs

ext. 207 | ktrapp@wacphila.org

Communications

Katy Smith

Digital Content Manager

ext. 235 | ksmith@wacphila.org

Finance

Mitchell Abrams

Director of Finance

ext. 210 | mabrams@wacphila.org

Travel

Shoshana Altrichter

Vice President of Travel

ext. 209 | saltrichter@wacphila.org

Shoshana has been with the travel department at the World Affairs Council for over seventeen years. Prior to joining the Council, she worked for the Jewish Federation in Philadelphia. Shoshana received her B.S. from Drexel University in Film & Video production with a minor in Political Science. She worked in the local film industry for a few years, before shifting her focus to the non-profit sector. Shoshana has traveled extensively in Europe and the Middle East and has led many tours for the organization.